Rainbow at the End of the Storm

From Stevie …
I’m sitting here in our beautiful beach house in Grand Isle, LA where we finally have a chance to let these past few days sink in. In the last three days I have learned so much more than I would have learned in an entire semester of class. There’s something about being able to see it for myself and to be able to listen to these people and hear their stories that can’t be matched in a classroom. I have not only developed a love for the city of New Orleans and the optimism of its people, but I have also developed a much greater understanding of what is really going on in the Gulf and how the people who have lived here for years and even decades feel about how the BP Oil Spill is being handled and what their thoughts are for the future.

We have been spending a lot of time simply soaking up the culture and the overwhelming theme I have noticed is the optimism of the people here. You would think under such devastating circumstances it would be easy for people to focus on the negative, but I’ve learned that after going through so much from hurricanes and natural disasters, they have this sense of being able to come back from it. They have an attitude of “life goes on” and there’s always a silver lining. These people are strong, motivated, and optimistic about their future. Sometimes that’s the most important part of recovering after the disasters they have been through.

I think part of our job as students in keeping the story alive is to spread the word. To make people aware of what is going on down here and to inform them of the facts. It’s hard for people to understand the impact of disasters such as Katrina and the BP Oil Spill unless they come down and see it for themselves. But through our blogs, facebook posts, pictures and videos we can help to bring the coast to the rest of the country.

Can’t wait to help make a difference and keep the story alive.

❤ Stevie Rae

… While taking a walk in Audubon Park we came across a rainbow in the fountain. I think this picture illustrates the attitude of the people here. There’s always a rainbow at the end of a storm.

About stevierae4590

Hey, I'm Stevie Rae! I love to sing, dance, play, laugh and write. Mornings are my favorite time of the day and I'd rather be outside than in. I believe that everyone has something unique and special about them and they should share those talents with others. I try to look at everything in a positive light. I believe it makes life a whole lot easier and definitely more enjoyable. Someday I hope to make a difference, even if it's just in one person's life for a brief moment. I think if everyone tried to do just that, the world would be a much better place. I also believe with all my heart that everything happens for a reason. There are no mistakes, there are only opportunities and lessons learned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

